In Your Periphery

I only want to be seen, realised
Within your unsuspecting eyes.
A fleeting shadow, an impression,
Inexplicable trick of light and shade
Forced to dance within your peripheral vision.

I am the hand that disturbs the leaves
When no wind rasps, the whispered
Sigh that dies in a soundless room.
A glint of sunlight on glass when all is black.

I only want to be touched, held tight
Within your trembling arms. Breathe,
Shudder, give in to this shadow and
Weep my unspeakable name.

Expect my unexpected gaze in your
Waking dreams, for I will forever wait
Each moment in the corners of your cognition.

© 2016 Occasional Dreams
In response to daily prompt: Border
Image: “Shadows” by S P Photography / CC BY

Leave a Reply

