NaNoWriMo 2016, Day 1

Today’s been a busy day and I settled down to write later than I wanted to. But day one of NaNoWriMo is now complete with 1,691 plotless words under my belt.

I still don’t have a plan, still happy to explore and experiment and see what emerges.

I’ve decided to use a prompt each day to get me started. Today I decided to incorporate ten random words. The words were:

fish, tacit, drown, stranger, useless, holistic, even, railway, gullible, penitent

I still have no title or clear synopsis. However, what I can tell you so far, is that shy, unassuming Beverly is secretly in love with Stephen, she looked for him all night during their company’s annual gala. But Stephen never made it, his train was cancelled and he was met by two men at the station. The men know his name and give him a card with a number on it, he went home, called the number and was told a car would come and fetch him.

© 2016 Occasional Dreams

12 Replies to “NaNoWriMo 2016, Day 1”

    1. Thanks. Well done for almost making it through day two! Just keep writing and you’ll be fine, that’s what I tell myself — it’s what I tell myself every time I write. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! Hope the train writing session went well. It’s so cool you’re in the future — you’re in Australia aren’t you? Good luck with day 3. I’m on the site as lodgerofarabica if you want to add me or anything.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oo that’s mysterious. Reminds me of The Game. I’m impressed with the random word challenge and the amount of words you got down. Nanowri would be a big enough challenge for me. I wrote 0 words, but outlined 2 stories from beginning to end. Maybe next year. I’m a procrastinator.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Hopefully what remains of the words after later editing will be as exciting as The Game! Carry on outlining and let the ideas stew, maybe they can form the basis of next year’s challenge 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

