NaNoWriMo 2016, Day 3

Whereas the first day was like skiing downhill — thrilling, fun, with momentum — today has been like trudging through sinking sand.

Everything at the moment is like choking through quicksand. Anyway despite this I’ve managed an extra 1,600+ words, which has brought about a fresh change of narrative and the introduction of a new character who suffers from irregular sleep and the inability to dream.

In keeping with my chosen approach to this challenge, the prompt for today was to choose the last line in a book, which I took as a closing scene, and wrote my way towards it (I’ll redraft this line out later).

The line was:

‘I watched his back receding down the long, gleaming hall.’
from The Secret History by Donna Tartt.

9 Replies to “NaNoWriMo 2016, Day 3”

    1. Strangely, I find it makes thing easier. Don’t worry about editing, keep going. I felt like giving up today but forced myself. Keep going and it will flow.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. That is s great prompt! My day 4 output has dipped compared to first 3 days, but overall still slightly higher than the daily average…although im working to a very structured plot, I might throw in a writing prompt to make things a little more fun. I’m not game to use the prompt you’ve used here, put perhaps a I’ll pick a bunch of nouns to include. ..

    Have a great day 4!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Adding the prompts mixes things up, which I like as I have no plot at all, though I’m not sure I can sustain it for the whole month! Randoms words are usually a good way to throw in some interesting curve balls. Have a great day 5, I hope momentum picks up again for you. BTW, magical realism is my favourite genre.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Momentum made a comeback on day 5! Yes, I love magical realism too, and novels with humour or absurdity. All the best for your day 5 back in my yesterday where all my troubles seemed so…sorry, I’ll stop there 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

