All the Old Bottles

‘I’ve finished it, Grandpa,’ said Maisie.

Dennis took the small ‘For Sale’ sign Maisie had decorated with flowers and borders.

‘Oh, that’s beautiful. Thank you, sweetheart.’

Maisie knelt down, pressed her face against the glass, and stared at the strange, faded bottles.

‘I thought you liked them,’ said  Maisie.

‘I did. But sometimes grown-ups need a bit of a clear out.’

‘Like a spring clean?’ said Maisie.

‘Yes, like a spring clean,’ said Dennis.

‘They look old,’ said Maisie. ‘Where’d you get them from?’

‘Different places. I had a friend. Before your daddy was born. We had this beat-up camper. We’d travel the country, buy a bottle from each state, take photos of us drinking ’em, and keep the bottles as a reminder.’

‘Shouldn’t there be more?’ she said.

‘We didn’t finish the trip.’

‘Why?’

‘My friend, she, she couldn’t go on anymore.’

‘Did she die?’

‘No. She just didn’t want to. The 7Up bottle was the last one, from Wyoming.’

‘Oh,’ said Maisie, ‘that’s sad. I’ve made some lemonade, would you like some?’

‘Yes, sweetheart,’ smiled Dennis, ‘I’d love some.’

‘I’ve only got glasses though,’ said Maisie.

‘That’s okay. A glass will be fine,’ said Dennis.

© 2017 Occasional Dreams
In response to: Sunday Photo Fiction – February 5th 2017

17 thoughts on “All the Old Bottles

      1. I have a lot of those objects myself, so I can relate. Although I also have a terrible memory, so now I have objects I know are sentimental but can’t remember exactly why. I’m guessing those will be the first to go when it’s time for spring cleaning.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Steve. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I did struggle to fit everything I wanted in, so perhaps a foundation for something longer, some day. 🙂

      Like

    1. Oh… I did read yours Iain, but the similarities are purely subconscious. Your piece was very powerful and must have stuck with me. I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to copy any of it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

