Picnic on the Beach

Aphrodite leaned in,
whispered a kiss between bites of a peach.
Knees curled up, sands still damp from rain.
On a blanket of surrender and sandwiches.
A serenade of ice cream vans,
children released balloons in celebration,
kites rose like doves into the sky.

I was a creature of pain,
I never knew I was suitable for love again,
until that kiss. Her brown hair waving
sea windward, calling the mermaids’ songs.
The myths were wrong, Psyche had nothing
on her. That was the moment — strawberries on shingle,
wine between nicotine kisses,
bare arms embracing, thighs pressing. I was born
to love and laugh and love and love again.

© 2017 The Wasted Love Song
Image: Florida – Sunny Isles by Wally Gobetz / CC BY

8 Replies to “Picnic on the Beach”

  1. I was a creature of pain,
    I never knew I was suitable for love again,
    until that kiss…….this was the line that built this poem for me…..I don’t believe happiness is for me and this said it so clearly. I do love your poetry David. the words simple truths connecting precise images to the heart.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. She’s a special one, love and kindness always win and I am happy you have her in your life, and to write a story like this is an amazing tribute to that steadfast love and support. I am blessed to read your words David.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

