The Bee

You glanced by my window,
wings spread free.
I’m sorry I could not let you in,
I’m sorry I watched you leave.
In this house there is only death’s fragrance,
where last season’s roses,
withered, fail to bloom.
Beyond the glaze is another world
where you dance in colour,
caressing crocus and hyacinth,
splashing in a sea with lily and daphne.
I watch you, wishing I could leave,
and kiss like the sun kisses the breeze,
wishing I too could be free.

© 2017 The Wasted Love Song
In response to daily prompt: Bumble
Image credit: Ryan Graybill via Unsplash

2 Replies to “The Bee”

Leave a Reply

